Rhode Islanders Need Both Earned Sick Days and Paid Family Leave (TCI)

Last updated: October 24, 2023

Paid Family Leave (TCI)

Rhode Island was a leader in creating one of the nation’s first paid family leave programs – Temporary Caregiver Insurance (TCI) – which went into effect in January 2014. TCI provides up to six weeks of partial (about 60%) wage replacement to workers who need to take time from work to care for a seriously ill family member including a child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law or grandparent or to bond with a newborn child, adopted child or foster child. TCI also protects the worker’s job and seniority while the worker is out on leave. Legislation has been introduced this year to make improvements to TCI.

Paid Sick Leave

Starting July 1, 2018 Rhode Island’s many full and part-time workers can start to accrue time off under the Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act. Workers earn 1 hour of time for every 35 hours they work. Paid time workers in larger companies (18 or more employers) are entitled to paid time off. Unpaid time workers in smaller companies (less than 18 employees) are not entitled to paid time but the employer may not take adverse action against an employee for taking unpaid time off for sick or safe time and must allow employees to take leave, without fear of retribution.

The maximum amount of time that can be accrued is:

  • 32 hours in calendar year 2019
  • 40 hours calendar year 2020 and thereafter

Workers can take time off when they are sick or to take care of a family member. Addressing needs as a result of domestic violence also qualifies.

Download a PDF copy of the Flyer!

Download PDF
Back to all publications
You can help

Like this publication? Please consider supporting EPI.

Your support powers the research, communications, and partnership building necessary to make policy work for people, so every Rhode Islander can achieve their goal for a healthy and vibrant life.